Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical Classification System

The Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical Classification System (ATC) is the international indexing system used to identify known drugs anywhere in the world. It was first published in 1976 by the World Health Organization (WHO). The ATC is divided into five levels.

First Level – 14 Anatomical Groups

Code     Contents

A             Alimentary tract and metabolism

B             Blood and blood forming organs

C             Cardiovascular system

D             Dermatologicals

G             Genito-urinary system and sex hormones

H             Systemic hormonal preparations, excluding sex hormones and insulins

J              Antiinfectives for systemic use

L              Antineoplastic and immunomodulating agents

M            Musculo-skeletal system

N             Nervous system

P             Antiparasitic products, insecticides and repellents

R             Respiratory system

S              Sensory organs

V             Variouswho-logo

Second Level – Main Therapeutic Group

Third Level – Pharmacological/Therapeutic Subgroup

Fourth Level – Chemical/Pharmacological/Therapeutic Subgroup

Fifth Level – Chemical Substance

This is an example of ATC Code for Glibenclamide